Disney Day 42

With a trip to Walt Disney World coming up in September to finish my Disney Days project, I still had 3 days to find activities to do at home or close to home. When a Disney on Broadway show was announced, it fit in perfectly!

The Disney on Broadway performance was done 4 times as a benefit for the Actor’s Fund. It featured 4 Disney on Broadway performers: Michael James Scott, the current Genie in Aladdin, Ashley Brown, the original Mary Poppins, Josh Strickland, the original Tarzan and Kissy Simmons, who played Nala on Broadway.

The performances took place at the New Amsterdam theater, which is the current home of Aladdin. My sister and I attended the 4th performance, which was a Sunday matinee.

It was such an awesome feeling to be back in a Broadway theater again. Attending Broadway shows was a big part of my pre-Covid life and it was great to be back (I already have tickets to two Broadway shows when regular shows return in the fall).

As the house lights went down, the announcement came on saying “Welcome Back to Broadway!” The audience cheered and you could feel that energy of just being so excited and happy to be there.

The show was great. All four performers were excellent.. though I am partial to Ashley Brown. I just LOVE her voice. They sang a few songs from each Disney on Broadway show and seemed to be sure to include songs that were added just for the Broadway show.

At the end, they did a selfie with the audience in the background. Then they said, “Hey that isn’t fair. You all should take a selfie with us.” So they turned up the house lights and encouraged everything to stand up and take a selfie while they posed on the stage. You can’t see them very well in my picture but it was a fun opportunity.

I certainly enjoyed an afternoon of Disney on Broadway songs. Looking forward to more theater and more Disney Days!

Published by Disney Christine

I grew up with a love for all things Disney. I have been fortunate enough to travel to Walt Disney World, Disneyland, with Disney Cruise Line and with Adventures by Disney. Visiting all the world wide parks is on my bucket list!

Leave a comment